> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 March 2016
  • ISBN: 9780552777254
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 576
  • RRP: $26.00

The Voices Beyond

(Oland Quartet Series 4)




The fourth and final novel of Johan Theorin's award-winning quartet set on the Swedish island of Öland, perfect for fans of Henning Mankell and Stieg Larsson.

Summer on the beautiful Swedish island of Öland. Visitors arrive in their thousands, ready to enjoy the calm and relaxation of this paradise.

Amongst them is Jonas Kloss, excited at the prospect of staying with his aunt, uncle and older cousins. But it is not as he had hoped. One night he takes a boat out onto the moonlit sea. A ship looms out of the darkness and the horror he finds on board is unimaginable.

Fleeing for his life, Jonas arrives at the door of an elderly islander, Gerlof Davidsson. Once Gerlof has heard his tale of dead sailors and axe-wielding madmen, he realizes that this will be a summer like none other Öland has ever seen.

For one man – the Homecomer – this is a very special journey. He seeks revenge that he’s waited a lifetime to exact…

  • Published: 15 March 2016
  • ISBN: 9780552777254
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 576
  • RRP: $26.00

About the author

Johan Theorin

Throughout his life, Johan Theorin has been a regular visitor to the Baltic Island of Öland. His mother's family - sailors, fishermen and farmers - have lived there for centuries, nurturing the island's rich legacy of strange tales and folklore.

A journalist by profession, Johan lives in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Also by Johan Theorin

See all

Praise for The Voices Beyond

Johan Theorin, whose fragile, glass-boned narrative style assumes an operatic scale in The Voices Beyond

Independent (Barry Forshaw)

Related titles