> Skip to content

The heart-warming, poignant and evocative new novel from the bestselling author of A Hundred Pieces of Me and All I Ever Wanted.

***THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER***
‘You know those cracks in your heart, Lorna, where things didn’t work out, but you picked yourself up and carried on? That’s where the fear gets out. And where the light gets in.’

It was Betty, defiant to the end, who sent Lorna back to Longhampton. If Lorna’s learned one thing from Betty it’s that courage is something you paint on like red lipstick, even when you’re panicking inside. And right now, with the keys to the town’s gallery in her hand, Lorna feels about as courageous as Betty’s anxious little dachshund, trembling beside her.

Lorna’s come home to Longhampton to fulfil a long-held dream, but she knows, deep down, there are ghosts she needs to lay to rest first. This is where her tight-knit family shattered into silent pieces. It’s where her unspoken fears about herself took root and where her own secret, complicated love began. It’s not exactly a fresh start.

But as Lorna – and the little dog – tentatively open their cracked hearts to old friends and new ones, facing hard truths and fresh promises, something surprisingly beautiful begins to grow around the gallery, something so inspirational even Lorna couldn’t have predicted the light it lets into her world . . .

An inspiring, life-enhancing novel that will make you see your life afresh . . . Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry will love it.

Reviews

Where the Light Gets In is full of love, truth, art and dogs. I absolutely loved it.

Katie Fforde

Life-affirming, funny and authentic, Lucy Dillon’s plot builds to a perfectly pitched emotional climax which will have you reaching for the tissues.

Sunday Express

Dillon has delivered another blinder . . . A bittersweet, moving examination of letting go and trusting one's own instincts in the face of self-doubt.

Sara Lawrence, Daily Mail

A beautiful insightful and tender story. I feel bereft for having finished it.

Milly Johnson

I always know I’m in safe hands with a new Lucy Dillon novel and I also know that I’ll be having a big, ugly, snotty cry before I reach the final page. A perfect Sunday afternoon treat of a book.

Sarra Manning, Red Magazine

Lucy Dillon's books never fail to make me happy.

Jenny Colgan

Prepare for your heartstrings to be tugged! Moving and ultimately satisfying.

Fabulous Magazine

This book is just beautiful inside and out . . . Written with such thought, such empathy, & capturing all those little nuances of living,loving and losing that make Lucy Dillon such a phenomenal storyteller.

Penny Parkes

Praise for Lucy Dillon

:

Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better

Jojo Moyes

Lucy Dillon's books make the world a better place.

Heat

Satisfying and clever and deeply moving

Sophie Kinsella

No one tugs at the heartstrings quite like Lucy Dillon

Red

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781784162092

    January 8, 2019

    Black Swan

    464 pages

    RRP $26.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • Hardback

    9780593080368

    May 15, 2018

    Bantam Press

    464 pages

    RRP $40.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • Trade Paperback

    9780593077658

    April 30, 2018

    Bantam Press

    464 pages

    RRP $37.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • EBook

    9781473541788

    April 19, 2018

    Transworld Digital

    464 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks NZ
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    • Booktopia NZ

Extract

Prologue

Betty Dunlop wasn’t scared of death, but then she hadn’t been scared of the Luftwaffe, the Cold War, the threat of a nuclear winter, salmonella, cholesterol, or any of her three varyingly awful husbands.

Lorna Larkham, though, wasn’t quite so relaxed about it. And the closer death glided towards Betty’s bedside in St Agnes’s Hospice, the faster Lorna’s own heart beat inside her chest, so hard she had to force her legs from twitching, and getting up and running away.

The carriage clock beside her seemed to have stopped; how could it still be just seven o’clock? Lorna had arrived at six to start her volunteer shift, and the ward sister had intercepted her before she’d even got her jacket off, to warn her that Betty – ninety-three the week before and still roller-set and Ellnetted to the nines – had started to decline overnight.

Continue Reading