> Skip to content

Henning Mankell (1948-2015) became a worldwide phenomenon with his crime writing, gripping thrillers and atmospheric novels set in Africa. His prizewinning and critically acclaimed Inspector Wallander Mysteries continue to dominate bestseller lists all over the globe and his books have been translated into forty-five languages and made into numerous international film and television adaptations: most recently the BAFTA-award-winning BBC television series Wallander, starring Kenneth Branagh.

Driven by a desire to change the world and to fight against racism and nationalism, Mankell devoted much of his time to working with charities in Africa, including SOS Children’s Villages and PLAN International, where he was also director of the Teatro Avenida in Maputo. In 2008, the University of St Andrews conferred Henning Mankell with an honorary degree of Doctor of Letters in recognition of his major contribution to literature and to the practical exercise of conscience.


Books by Henning Mankell

After the Fire
The Man From Beijing
The Troubled Man
Faceless Killers
The Eye Of The Leopard
The Shadow Girls
An Event in Autumn
Wallander's First Case
A Treacherous Paradise
Italian Shoes
Kennedy's Brain
The Pyramid
Before The Frost
The Return Of The Dancing Master
The Journey to the End of the World
When the Snow Fell
Chronicler Of The Winds
The Man Who Smiled
The White Lioness
I Die, But The Memory Lives On