> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  31 January 2022

 

The Herd book club notes

A standout book club novel. Unputdownable and thought-provoking.

Elizabeth and Bryony are polar opposites but their unexpected friendship has always worked. They're the best of friends, and godmothers to each other's daughters – because they trust that the safety of their children is both of their top priority.

But what if their choice could harm your own child?

The Herd probes the fine line between individual choice and collective responsibility, making it a perfect book to discuss with your book club.

Discussion points and questions:

  • The Herd follows Elizabeth and Bryony – two women with very different viewpoints and perspectives. Did you identify more with one character than the other? Why?
  • Think about the events leading up to the birthday party. Could the drama that develops from that moment have been prevented? Which characters are to blame for the way in which the tragedy unfolds?
  • Discuss the theme of responsibility in the novel. Do you think the characters are justified in acting in the way they do? Would you have made the same choices had you been in their place?
  • Were there any moments you found unexpected or shocking?
  • Think about the perspectives we are shown from people in and around the courtroom. How did these voices affect your reading of the novel? Did they make you consider any points of view different to your own?
  • Were you surprised by how the final chapters played out? While you were reading, did you have any different ideas for how the novel might end?

The Herd Emily Edwards

A STANDOUT BOOK CLUB NOVEL. Unputdownable and thought-provoking, THE HERD probes the fine line between individual choice and collective responsibility. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and THE SLAP.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Book clubs
The Last Station book club notes

An unputdownable Australian novel to read with your book club.

Book clubs
The Paper Palace book club notes

A magnificent literary pick for book club.

Book clubs
A Slow Fire Burning book club notes

An exciting new thriller from the author of The Girl on the Train to discuss with your book club.

Book clubs
Mirror Man book club notes

Ponder whether one life is worth more than another with Fiona McIntosh's latest thriller.

Book clubs
The Deep book club notes

This heart-stopping thriller set on the rugged coast of Tasmania is an excellent choice for book club.

Book clubs
Fragile Monsters book club notes

Sweep your book club off to Malaysia with this spellbinding novel of war and family betrayal.

Book clubs
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot book club notes

A tale of extraordinary friendship and a lifetime of stories to share with your book club pals.

Article
Meet the family at the centre of our must-have whodunnit

The Cunninghams don't really get along, and every one of them has killed someone. Meet the family to help you find the culprit.

Q&A
Author's bizarre Google search while writing new book

Benjamin Stevenson talks to us about his new must-have mystery and his friend's odd act that inspired his book.

Article
One of Us is Lying: Meet the suspects

Five students get detention, only four leave alive. How far would you go to protect your secrets?

Article
The 2021 Booker Prize shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2021 Booker Prize has been announced, with four Penguin Random House novels named.

Q&A
Fiona McIntosh on DCI Jack Hawksworth

The bestselling author discusses tapping back into Jack's world, twisty-turny stories and her favourite crime dramas.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes