> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 April 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409099536
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432

Fear Itself




A compelling, finely-crafted, intelligent thriller set in the Second World War.

It's the late 1930s in an America slowly pulling itself out of the Depression. War is threatening in Europe, but in America, with forty million citizens of German ancestry, there is great pressure to stay out of the fight.

Jimmy Nessheim, a young Special Agent in the fledgling FBI, is assigned to infiltrate a new German-American organisation known as the Bund. Ardently pro-Nazi, it is conspiring to sabotage President Roosevelt's efforts to stop Hitler's advance. But as Nessheim's investigation takes him into the very heart of the Bund, it becomes increasingly clear that something far more sinister is at work, something that seems to lead directly to the White House. Drawn into the centre of Washington's high society, Nessheim finds himself caught up in a web of political intrigue and secret lives. But as he moves closer to the truth, an even more lethal plot emerges, one that could rewrite history in the most catastrophic of ways...

Set in the tense years before the Second World War, Fear Itself offers a rich depiction of history as it was - and as it might have been. A compelling thriller, it tells the riveting story of a plot that had the potential to change the world.

  • Pub date: 1 April 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409099536
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432

About the Author

Andrew Rosenheim

Andrew Rosenheim was born in Chicago and came to England as a Rhodes Scholar in 1977. He has lived near Oxford ever since. He is the author of eight novels, including The Informant, Fear Itself, Without Prejudice, Keeping Secrets and Stillriver, and a memoir, The Secrets of Carriage H.

Also by Andrew Rosenheim

See all

Praise for Fear Itself

“A chilling and meticulously detailed historical novel that explores one of the great 'what-if' questions of twentieth-century history, the events that so nearly kept America on the sidelines of World War II. The range of characters and settings is particularly impressive, together with the depth of research underpinning them. The novel brings home to us the enormous stakes at issue in this lethal game that so few contemporaries even realised was being played. Andrew Rosenheim has the rare knack of being able to understand history from the perspectives of both the old world and the new. He is set clearly to become a new dark star of the literary thriller with a political edge.”

Andrew Taylor, author of THE AMERICAN BOY

“Andrew Rosenheim's ambitious thriller Fear Itself reveals a little known aspect of the second world war. A young FBI agent, Jimmy Nessheim, risks his life when he's ordered to infiltrate the Bund, a pro-Nazi organisation determined to keep America out of the war.”

Sunday Times

“'An intriguing story, well told.'”

Jessica Mann, Literary Review

“An elegant political thriller... Written with style and skill, the novel slips seamlessly between the high politics of Germany and the US , with an ear for both, and a plot that is all too plausible.”

Daily Mail

“Accomplished ... a superlative thriller ... Rosenheim's career as a writer of intelligent and nuanced thrillers looks very promising indeed.”

Barry Forshaw, Independent

“Fans of Le Carre, Deighton and all the other great spy masters will thoroughly enjoy Fear Itself.”

crimesquad.com

“This excellent historical thriller conveys the doubt and suspense that was felt during the Second World War . . . Ideal deckchair entertainment.”

Kate Saunders, The Times


Related titles