> Skip to content

Why resilience and passion are the keys to outstanding achievement and how they can help you to accomplish remarkable things


UNLOCK THE KEY TO SUCCESS
In this must-read for anyone seeking to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth takes us on an eye-opening journey to discover the true qualities that lead to outstanding achievement. Winningly personal, insightful and powerful, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that – not talent or luck – makes all the difference.


‘Impressively fresh and original’ Susan Cain

Reviews

GRIT is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.

Malcolm Gladwell

Impressively fresh and original … GRIT scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us. And it solves the riddle of how those not likely to succeed in fact do. Buy this, send copies to your friends, and tell the world that there is, in fact, hope. We can all dazzle.

Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author

At a time when our collective notion of success has shrunk to the point of being unrecognizable, Angela Duckworth arrives to restore it. With a mix of masterful storytelling and the latest science, she shows that perseverance and passion matter at least as much as talent and intelligence. And far from simply urging us to work harder for the sake of working harder, Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.

Arianna Huffington, bestselling author of Thrive

This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.

Dan Heath, bestselling co-author of Made to Stick, Switch and Decisive

Angela Duckworth has written a contemporary classic - a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, GRIT is an essential - and perhaps life-changing - read.

Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell is Human

Utterly captivating, inspiring and original.For those of us who are not blessed with the easy confidence that comes from being a 'natural', Duckworth offers the science showing how staying committed to a task will eventually persuade others we were born to it. Once you pick up GRIT, you won't be able to tear yourself away.

Amy Cuddy, Harvard Business School professor and author of PRESENCE

I kept wanting to read this book aloud - to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it's true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it.

Amanda Ripley, New York Times bestselling author

Read More

Formats & editions

Recommendations

Not Just Lucky
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying
Option B
The Road Less Travelled
Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway
The Power Of Positive Thinking
The Choice
Ikigai
Find Your Why
Tools of Titans
Who Moved My Cheese
Rising Strong
Trump: The Art of the Deal
Chaos to Calm
Daring Greatly
Don't Sweat The Small Stuff
The Art of Living
Smarter Faster Better
Spellbound
Not In Your Genes