> Skip to content

An introduction to Lee Child’s vigilante hero.

Now that Lee Child has written more than 20 books in his highly successful Jack Reacher series, it might seem daunting prospect to come in late. But do you necessarily have to start at the beginning? Which book is the first one? And which books fit together? We’re here to help bring some clarity…

We are first introduced to Jack Reacher in Killing Floor. He’s a loner who used to be in the military, dangerous and unattainable, and the series follows his exploits all across America and occasionally into other countries.

There are four books that form a sub-series starting off with 61 Hours then continuing in Worth Dying For, A Wanted Man and finally Never Go Back. They follow Reacher as he’s trying to get to Virginia to return to his old base and a woman’s voice.

The first book in Lee Child‘s series is so good it seems a shame not to start there, but this is a series you can dip into at different stages because there’s always one constant – Jack Reacher.

Here’s a rundown of some of the killer titles in the Jack Reacher series:

Killing Floor: (Jack Reacher 1)
Jack Reacher gets off a bus in a small town in Georgia, and is thrown into the county jail for a murder he didn’t commit.

Die Trying: (Jack Reacher 2)
Reacher is locked in a van with a woman claiming to be FBI, and ferried right across America into a brand new country.

The Visitor: (Jack Reacher 4)
Two naked women are found dead in a bath filled with paint. Both are victims of a man just like Reacher.

Persuader: (Jack Reacher 7)
A kidnapping in Boston. A cop dies. Has Reacher lost his sense of right and wrong?

One Shot: (Jack Reacher 9)
This is the novel the Jack Reacher movie was based on, so from a film perspective is a valid place to start. A lone sniper shoots five people dead in a heartland city. But the accused guy says, ‘Get Reacher’.

Nothing to Lose: (Jack Reacher 12)
Reacher crosses the line between a town called Hope and one named Despair.

61 Hours: (Jack Reacher 14)
In freezing South Dakota, Reacher hitches a lift on a bus heading for trouble.

Worth Dying For: (Jack Reacher 15)
Reacher runs into a clan that’s terrifying the Nebraska locals. But it’s the unsolved case of a missing child that he can’t let go.

Never Go Back: (Jack Reacher 18)
Reacher has finally made it to Virginia. But the woman he’s meeting isn’t where she’s supposed to be and before Reacher knows it, there’s a lot that’s not quite the way it’s supposed to be. Will he be sorry he went back? Or will someone else be?

Make Me: (Jack Reacher 20)
Reacher has no place to go, and all the time in the world to get there, so a remote railroad stop on the prairie with the curious name of Mother’s Rest seems perfect for an aimless one-day stopover. Reacher’s one-day stopover becomes an open-ended quest… into the heart of darkness. 

  • Number one bestseller Lee Child's very first novel, which introduced his iconic character Jack Reacher, now reissued in B format

  • The dynamic second thriller from the number one bestselling author of KILLING FLOOR

  • Lee Child's fourth unputdownable thriller starring Jack Reacher features a chilling serial killer.

  • Jack's back - in his most explosive adventure yet.

  • Jack's back! In another taut, cool, sexy pageturner from the master, Lee Child.

  • The new Jack Reacher thriller by the no.1 bestseller.

  • Winner of the prestigious Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year prize, starring today's most admired action hero, the gallant and enigmatic loner Jack Reacher.

  • Following on from the cliffhanger ending of 61 Hours, Worth Dying For is the kind of explosive thriller only Lee Child could write, and only Jack Reacher could survive. Includes first three chapters of the new Reacher thriller, The Affair.

  • By addictive bestseller Lee Child, the brand new, action-packed, high-tension Jack Reacher thriller, which sees Reacher, at the end of his long journey, honing in on his target in Virginia at last...

  • This pacy, nailbiting new Jack Reacher thriller is one of Lee Child's darkest and most addictive yet. Prepare to be nailed to your seat by another hair-raising, heart-pounding adventure from the kick ass master of the thriller genre!

  • The 21st Jack Reacher thriller by number-one bestselling author Lee Child takes Reacher back to his army days, but this time he’s not in uniform. With trusted sergeant Frances Neagley at his side, he must carry the fate of the world on his shoulders, in a wired, fiendishly clever new adventure that will make the cold sweat trickle down your spine.

More Book Lists

Kapai the Kiwi

Join Kapai and his mates on a captivating adventure

Paul Cleave: Rejacketed Editions

Stunning new jackets for Paul Cleave's memorable mysteries.

Books to read if you loved 13 Reasons Why

Warning - Tissues maybe required

True Crime Stories

Infamous gangsters to deadly housewives

NZ Favourites Collection

50 of NZ's most loved children's books

Nurses for Life

Celebrate the incredible stories of healthcare’s everyday heroes.