> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 18 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9780241384435
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $17.99

Orphans of the Tide


Formats & editions


An extraordinary tale of myth, magic and the power of friendship, perfect for fans of Sky Song and Cogheart.

The City - mankind's last refuge in a drowned world, where Whale Lords reign and the Inquisition keeps the peace.

The Enemy - a dark power, ever seeking to take possession of a human body and cause untold chaos.

The Inventor - a girl living in the heart of the City in a ramshackle workshop overflowing with curiosities.

When a whale washes up on the City roofs and a mysterious boy emerges from its belly, the superstitious citizens assume the Enemy has come again. Only Ellie - a fearless inventor striving to live up to her mother's legacy - believes the boy is innocent. Thrown together with the young fugitive, now on the run from the ruthless Inquisition, Ellie must discover who this boy really is - and what that means for her own terrible secret . . .

  • Pub date: 18 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9780241384435
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $17.99

Discover More

Article
We asked young Kiwi readers all over NZ to read and review Struan Murray's debut novel Orphans of the Tide.

Related titles