> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 27 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9780857989468
  • Imprint: Bantam Australia
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $26.00
Categories:

River Run




Taking place over just one week, River Run is an unputdownable rural drama from the bestselling author of The Bark Cutters and Wild Lands.

Perfect for fans of Judy Nunn and Colleen McCullough, River Run is a stunning historical novel set in remote Western New South Wales.

It is January 1951, and after a year away Eleanor Webber has returned home to River Run, her family’s sprawling sheep property in western New South Wales. Fleeing a failed love affair back in Sydney, she hopes for some time and space to heal.

But with shearing of over 25,000 sheep about to commence, and the infamous and moneyed Margaret Winslow and her husband Keith staying in the main house as her mother’s guests, that dream is quickly dashed.

More worryingly, her half-brother Robbie is increasingly running wild, playing tricks on his governess, antagonising the jackeroos and obsessing about a communist invasion. Though only eleven, Robbie has appointed himself guardian of the property and, in his treehouse by the river, he readies for an imminent attack. Armed with a gun.

Then, with a storm looming and tensions rising in the shearing shed, a mysterious stranger appears on the horizon.

And in one disastrous moment young Robbie entangles Eleanor in a situation that will have serious repercussions for every member of the Webber family . . .

  • Pub date: 27 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9780857989468
  • Imprint: Bantam Australia
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $26.00

About the Author

Nicole Alexander

A fourth-generation grazier, Nicole returned to her family's property in the early 1990s. She is currently the business manager there.

Nicole has a Master of Letters in creative writing and her novels, poetry, travel and genealogy articles have been published in Australia, Germany, America and Singapore.

She is the author of nine novels: The Bark Cutters, A Changing Land, Absolution Creek, Sunset Ridge, The Great Plains, Wild Lands, River Run, An Uncommon Woman and Stone Country.

Also by Nicole Alexander

See all

Discover More

Book Clubs
Take a rural book club adventure: Nicole Alexander’s River Run.

Related titles