> Skip to content

A brand new historical novel set in the French Revolution by the acclaimed author of the hit BBC drama THE SCANDALOUS LADY W. For fans of VICTORIA and DOWNTON ABBEY

For fans of TV dramas like 'Victoria', 'Downton Abbey' and 'Poldark'

'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution. Read it!' LUCY WORSLEY

PARIS, 1792

It was a head, but one so bloodied, so rolled in filth, that it was scarcely recognisable but for its long red curls. It had been stuck on a pike like a lump of bread upon a toasting fork ...

Henrietta Lightfoot trips on her silk gown as she runs for her life along the bloodstained streets of revolutionary Paris. She finds refuge in the lavish home of Grace Dalyrmple Elliott, one of the old regime's most powerful courtesans. But heads are beginning to roll. Outside, the guillotine mercilessly claims its victims, while inside society's gilded salons, Henrietta becomes a pawn in a vicious power game. How will she survive in a world where no one can be trusted?

'A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history' The Times
'Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity' Sunday Times
'Compelling, operatic, modern' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE
'Dark and delicious' Red Magazine

Reviews

Henrietta Lightfoot's exploits in Revolutionary France are irresistible. She's a heroine you can't put down.

LUCY WORSLEY

A deliciously dark novel

Red Magazine

Georgette Heyer meets Flashman ... A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history

The Times

Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity, brilliantly evoking a society in which traditional bonds are being sundered.

Sunday Times

'Compelling and operatic . . . Reads like a modern thriller’

SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, author of The Romanovs

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781784162153

    January 15, 2017

    Black Swan

    368 pages

    RRP $26.00

    Online retailers

    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • Fishpond
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.co.nz

  • EBook

    9781446463420

    April 21, 2016

    Transworld Digital

    368 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle NZ
    • iBooks NZ
    • Google Play EBook NZ
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia NZ

Also by Hallie Rubenhold