> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 20 August 2018
  • ISBN: 9781785031076
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $26.00

The Girl in The Tower

(Winternight Trilogy)




A spellbinding fairytale full of magic and wonder, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials


For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic. . .
The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters. Setting out to defeat the raiders, the Prince and his trusted companion come across a young man riding a magnificent horse.

Only Sasha, a priest with a warrior's training, recognises this 'boy' as his younger sister, thought to be dead or a witch by her village. But when Vasya proves herself in battle, riding with remarkable skill and inexplicable power, Sasha realises he must keep her secret as she may be the only way to save the city from threats both human and fantastical. . .

A spellbinding fairytale full of magic and wonder, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

*Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy*
1. The Bear and the Nightingale
2. The Girl in the Tower
3. The Winter of the Witch

  • Pub date: 20 August 2018
  • ISBN: 9781785031076
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $26.00

About the Author

Katherine Arden

Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent her junior year of high school in Rennes, France.

Following her acceptance to Middlebury College in Vermont, she deferred enrolment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature.

After receiving her BA, she moved to Maui, Hawaii, working every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing and making crêpes to serving as a personal tour guide. After a year on the island, she moved to Briançon, France, and spent nine months teaching. She then returned to Maui, stayed for nearly a year, then left again to wander. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.

She is the author of The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower. These novels make up the first two parts of The Winternight Trilogy.

Also by Katherine Arden

See all

Praise for The Girl in The Tower

“With its beautiful storytelling and fiercely independent heroine fighting to be in charge of her own story, Katherine Arden's series finally fills a gap long left empty by Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. Full of snowy Russian legends come to life, the lights and political intrigue of medieval Moscow, beautiful princes and monks with swords, Arden's writing is striking in its loveliness and impressive in its storytelling instincts.”

ANNA JAMES

“A captivating folktale-inspired adventure laden in mystery, magic and myth, it's the story of Vasya, one of the punchiest heroines I've encountered this year”

THE POOL

“This is a sumptuous and beautiful literary fairytale taking inspiration from Russian myths and fairytales, about a woman challenging expected gender norms in her world.”

Stylist

“A stunning sequel to the darkly magical The Bear and the Nightingale. The fierce, free-spirited heroine of this fabulous fable, Vasya, rejects the usual choices of marriage or the convent and, following accusations of witchcraft, flees her small village of Lesnaya Zemlya in northernmost Russia with the intention of seeing the world. Entirely enthralling”

5 stars, S Magazine

“An enthralling sequel...this twist on a classic fairytale overflows with rich language. The perfect wintry read. 5 Stars”

THE SUN

“Katherine Arden's Winternight Trilogy isn't just good - it's hug-to-your-chest, straight-to-the-favourites-shelf, reread-immediately good, and each book just gets better”

LAINI TAYLOR


Related titles