> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 October 2019
  • ISBN: 9781785039737
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $26.00

The Winter of the Witch




A thrilling conclusion to the Winternight Trilogy - a magical series perfect for fans of The Night Circus

One girl can make a difference...
Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers – and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic.

Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders.

But she may not be able to save them all.

  • Pub date: 1 October 2019
  • ISBN: 9781785039737
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $26.00

About the Author

Katherine Arden

Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent her junior year of high school in Rennes, France.

Following her acceptance to Middlebury College in Vermont, she deferred enrolment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature.

After receiving her BA, she moved to Maui, Hawaii, working every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing and making crêpes to serving as a personal tour guide. After a year on the island, she moved to Briançon, France, and spent nine months teaching. She then returned to Maui, stayed for nearly a year, then left again to wander. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.

She is the author of The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower. These novels make up the first two parts of The Winternight Trilogy.

Also by Katherine Arden

See all

Praise for The Winter of the Witch

“Beautifully written, this adventure shimmers and shines with magic of all kinds. Heart-stoppingly good and unmissable”

SUNDAY EXPRESS

“The Winter of the Witch plunges us back to fourteenth-century Moscow, where old gods and new vie for the soul of Russia and fate rests on a witch girl’s slender shoulders. Prepare to have your heart ripped out, loaned back to you full of snow and magic, and ripped out some more...”

LAINI TAYLOR

“Haunting and enchanting story, rich in folklore and fantasy that will transport you into the heart of medieval Russia”

The Sun

“If you're a lover of fairytales and haven't yet encountered the Winternight trilogy you are in for an absolute treat. It's truly magical”

THE POOL

“The Winter of the Witch, the third in Katherine Arden's magical Winternight Trilogy, creates a layered world full of Russian myths and legends”

EMERALD STREET


Related titles