> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407045177
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

The Illustrated Mum



A powerful novel about two sisters living in a very dysfunctional household with their tattoo-crazy mum, who is struggling to cope.

'"It's like you're the mum" Marigold wept.

It was another game she sometimes liked to play. I decided it was my best chance of getting us home.'

********

Dolphin adores Marigold, her beautiful, vibrant mother.

She's not like the other mums.

She has vivid tattoos all over her body, bright hair and wonderful clothes.

But Dolphin's sister, Star, feels differently.

Marigold may look amazing, but living with her fiery, unpredictable moods can be hard.

As much as the girls love Marigold, is she the right person to be looking after them?

********

Jacqueline Wilson's classic children's story is an optimistic, heart breaking tale about family, mental health and strong sisterly love.

For fans of Tracy Beaker, The Bed and Breakfast Star and Double Act, this is a must have book for every young reader.

  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407045177
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

About the authors

Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson wrote her first novel when she was nine years old, and she has been writing ever since. She is now one of Britain’s bestselling and most beloved children’s authors. She has written over 100 books and is the creator of characters such as Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather. More than forty million copies of her books have been sold.

As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children’s Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children’s Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame.

Jacqueline is also a great reader, and has amassed over 20,000 books, along with her famous collection of silver rings.

Find out more about Jacqueline and her books at www.jacquelinewilson.co.uk

Nick Sharratt

Nick Sharratt has written and illustrated many books for children including Shark in the Park, You Choose and Pants. He has won numerous awards for his picture books, including the Sheffield Children's Book Award and the 2001 Children's Book Award. He has also enjoyed stellar success illustrating Jacqueline Wilson's books. Nick lives in Brighton.

Praise for The Illustrated Mum

A book that children will respond to and be empowered by . . . A powerfully portrayed, sometimes shocking but ultimately uplifting story, this is a book not to be missed

The Bookseller

Darker, shocking in its exposure of the vulnerability of streetwise kids who have to seem tough, luridly well-written yet curiously as sentimental as Dickens

Financial Times

More than lives up the expectations of the many readers eagerly waiting for her new book . . . disturbingly perceptive and provocative

Guardian

Undoubtedly her best yet - single mum, feisty daughter, jaunty style - but there is a darker thread running through it

Sunday Telegraph

Wilson is doing something important and rare. Not content to stand still, she's widening and deepening the scope of her work while maintaining its central hold on her readers. She's so good, it's exhilarating

Guardian

Written with affection and wit . . . this could have been a sad story, but somehow it manages to sparkle as brilliantly as the mother's own numerous coloured tattoos

Independent

Related titles