> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 1 May 2019
  • ISBN: 9781473564343
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432
Categories:

The Nanny

Can you trust her with your child?




A new psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Gilly MacMillan for readers who loved THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE CHILD.

A gripping psychological thriller for readers who loved THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE CHILD.

Why is she back?

And what does she want?

Jocelyn was seven years old when her beloved nanny disappeared overnight. Her parents never told her why. Devastated by the loss and the disruption of her safe family enclave, Jocelyn never quite got over it.

Thirty years later, Jocelyn returns to her crumbling, shadowy family home. Widowed and vulnerable, she has a young daughter of her own.

Then her long-gone nanny appears on the doorstep.

And Jocelyn soon realises that she doesn’t know who this woman really is – or, now that she’s back, what she wants.

Or what really happened on that fateful night all those years ago…

  • Pub date: 1 May 2019
  • ISBN: 9781473564343
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432

About the Author

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling and Edgar-nominated author of What She Knew (also published as Burnt Paper Sky), The Perfect Girl and Odd Child Out.

Gilly grew up in Swindon, Wiltshire and lived in Northern California in her late teens. She studied history and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery in London before starting a family.

Gilly has since worked as a photography teacher and she now writes full time. She lives in Bristol with her family.


Praise for The Nanny

“With its buried secrets, shifting allegiances, and creeping sense of dread, The Nanny pulses with tension until its shocking conclusion. I absolutely loved it!”

Shari Lapena

“The plot sucked me in and the insidious build had me turning the pages rapidly”

Jane Shemilt

“I was blown away by The Nanny. Original, twisty, unpredictable and taut with its buried secrets, the old creepy house and complex relationships. I never knew who to trust and the ending shocked me. This deserves to be huge!”

Claire Douglas

“From the first page I wanted to know all the dark secrets this family were hiding. It’s a seriously addictive read and I never knew who to trust”

Amy Lloyd

“THE NANNY kept me in white-knuckled suspense until the very last page. Gilly Macmillan’s breakout thriller is a dark and twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong.”

Tess Gerritsen

“Gilly Macmillan is a master of creating tension so exquisitely unbearable I had to force myself not to skip ahead. Brilliant, gripping, and terrifying.”

Liv Constantine

“Exploding with secrets, The Nanny by master storyteller Gilly Macmillan has everything you dream for in a thriller: expertly drawn and complex characters, a terrifying premise and the best villain I’ve encountered on the page in a long time. Told through multiple perspectives, Macmillan skillfully reveals long dormant family secrets in this atmospheric stunner. Be sure to catch up on your sleep before picking up The Nanny, you won’t be able to rest until the final, spine-tingling conclusion.”

Heather Gudenkauf

“A brilliant blend of missing person drama with some seriously spooky Gothic overtones.”

Glamour magazine

“The Nanny will make you doubt everyone – including yourself. Some families are built on a bedrock of lies. This one is no exception. Clever and deliciously addictive.”

Jane Corry

“A tense, assured and atmospheric thriller which will keep you guessing from page one right through to the shocking denouement. Brilliantly absorbing.”

Mel McGrath


Related titles