> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 25 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473564350
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368
Categories:

To Tell You the Truth

A twisty thriller that’s impossible to put down




A new psychological thriller by Sunday Times bestselling author Gilly MacMillan for readers who loved THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE CHILD.

___________________

The Sunday Times bestselling author of The Nanny returns with a compulsive thriller that is a potent blend of atmosphere, tarnished memories, and twisty secrets.

Bestselling mystery writer Lucy Harper’s talent for invention has given her fame, fortune, and an army of adoring readers. It has also saddled her with dependents, namely her fawning husband Dan.

When Dan suddenly goes missing, his disappearance evokes dark memories that take Lucy back more than thirty years - to the day her brother vanished without a trace. That’s when Lucy began conjuring stories. The police investigation revealed few confirmed details, so she created tales to fill in the gaps, to explain what happened that day her brother disappeared - and young Lucy was the only witness.

Now decades later, with the whole world watching, Lucy’s past and present are colliding, and this bestselling author skilled in telling stories is losing control of her own narrative.

Where is Dan? What happened to Lucy's brother? And is Lucy revealing all she knows about their disappearances?
___________________
PRAISE FOR GILLY MACMILLAN:
'Pulses with tension until its shocking conclusion' SHARI LAPENA

'White-knuckled suspense' TESS GERRITSEN
‘From the first page I wanted to know all the dark secrets this family were hiding. It’s a seriously addictive read and I never knew who to trust’ AMY LLOYD, author of THE INNOCENT WIFE and ONE MORE LIE
‘A brilliant blend of missing person drama with some seriously spooky Gothic overtones.’ GLAMOUR MAGAZINE
‘Secrets, lies, jealousy and betrayal… Elegantly structured and infused with a creeping sense of dread’ SARAH VAUGHAN

‘The plot sucked me in and the insidious build had me turning the pages rapidly’ JANE SHEMILT

The Nanny will make you doubt everyone - including yourself. Some families are built on a bedrock of lies. This one is no exception. Clever and deliciously addictive’ JANE CORRY

‘I was blown away by The Nanny. Original, twisty, unpredictable and taut with its buried secrets, the old creepy house and complex relationships. I never knew who to trust and the ending shocked me. This deserves to be huge!’ CLAIRE DOUGLAS

‘A tense, assured and atmospheric thriller which will keep you guessing from page one right through to the shocking denouement. Brilliantly absorbing’ MEL McGRATH

  • Pub date: 25 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473564350
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368

About the Author

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling and Edgar-nominated author of What She Knew (also published as Burnt Paper Sky), The Perfect Girl and Odd Child Out.

Gilly grew up in Swindon, Wiltshire and lived in Northern California in her late teens. She studied history and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery in London before starting a family.

Gilly has since worked as a photography teacher and she now writes full time. She lives in Bristol with her family.

Also by Gilly Macmillan

See all

Praise for To Tell You the Truth

“With its buried secrets, shifting allegiances, and creeping sense of dread, The Nanny pulses with tension until its shocking conclusion. I absolutely loved it!”

Shari Lapena

“The plot sucked me in and the insidious build had me turning the pages rapidly”

Jane Shemilt

“I was blown away by The Nanny. Original, twisty, unpredictable and taut with its buried secrets, the old creepy house and complex relationships. I never knew who to trust and the ending shocked me. This deserves to be huge!”

Claire Douglas

“From the first page I wanted to know all the dark secrets this family were hiding. It’s a seriously addictive read and I never knew who to trust”

Amy Lloyd

“THE NANNY kept me in white-knuckled suspense until the very last page. Gilly Macmillan’s breakout thriller is a dark and twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong.”

Tess Gerritsen

“Gilly Macmillan is a master of creating tension so exquisitely unbearable I had to force myself not to skip ahead. Brilliant, gripping, and terrifying.”

Liv Constantine

“Exploding with secrets, The Nanny by master storyteller Gilly Macmillan has everything you dream for in a thriller: expertly drawn and complex characters, a terrifying premise and the best villain I’ve encountered on the page in a long time. Told through multiple perspectives, Macmillan skillfully reveals long dormant family secrets in this atmospheric stunner. Be sure to catch up on your sleep before picking up The Nanny, you won’t be able to rest until the final, spine-tingling conclusion.”

Heather Gudenkauf

“A brilliant blend of missing person drama with some seriously spooky Gothic overtones.”

Glamour magazine

“The Nanny will make you doubt everyone – including yourself. Some families are built on a bedrock of lies. This one is no exception. Clever and deliciously addictive.”

Jane Corry

“A tense, assured and atmospheric thriller which will keep you guessing from page one right through to the shocking denouement. Brilliantly absorbing.”

Mel McGrath


Related titles