> Skip to content

News  •  26 February 2019


Philip Pullman Announces New Book The Secret Commonwealth

Volume Two of The Book of Dust is set to arrive on 3rd October 2019, jumping 20 years forward from Volume One, La Belle Sauvage. 

The Secret Commonwealth publishes on 3rd October 2019 ahead of the highly-anticipated BBC One adaptation of Pullman's seminal His Dark Materials trilogy starring Dafne Keen, James McAvoy, Ruth Wilson and Lin-Manuel Miranda in lead roles.

Lyra is no longer a child. The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two is set 20 years after the events of La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One unfolded, and seven years after readers left Lyra and Will Parry on a park bench in Oxford’s Botanic Gardens in The Amber Spyglass, the final book in His Dark Materials.

Global in scale, The Secret Commonwealth sees Lyra forced to navigate a complex and dangerous new world which takes her far beyond the edges of Oxford, across Europe and into Asia, in search of an elusive town said to be haunted by dæmons. As well as taking readers on an exhilarating journey into places at once familiar and extraordinary, the book is a timely exploration of what it is to be human, to grow up and make sense of the world around us, from one of the UK’s greatest writers.

Philip Pullman said: 'At the heart of the book are Lyra, the young woman we saw first as a girl of twelve and then as a baby, and Malcolm, whose life as a boy became involved with hers and who now finds their lives helplessly entangled again; and how some emotions can last a lifetime, and others change beyond recognition.'


Looking for more news?

See all news