> Skip to content

Published across the world and shortlisted for the Frank O'Connor International Prize.

Award-winning Charlotte Grimshaw's remarkable collection of intertwined short stories.

Richly detailed, vivid with local colour, each story in this book is an inspection of human motive and of the complex ties that bind five principal characters together. The stories cover a wide range of territory, from childhood innocence to adult desperation, from the depths of poverty to cushioned affluence, from London to Los Angeles, Ayers Rock in Australia to the black sand beaches of New Zealand's wild west coast.

The stories can be read as discrete pieces, yet each contributes to a unifying narrative, which also links back to her previous work Opportunity and forward to her subsequent works, The Night Book and Soon. Both Singularity and Opportunity were shortlisted for the Frank O'Connor International Prize, and the latter won New Zealand's premier award for fiction, the 2008 Montana Book Award.

Formats & editions

  • EBook


    May 1, 2010

    Random House New Zealand

    256 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle NZ
    • iBooks NZ
    • Google Play EBook NZ
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia NZ
  • Paperback


    May 1, 2009

    RHNZ Vintage

    256 pages

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • Fishpond
    • The Nile

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.co.nz

Awards and Recognition

  • Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Regional)
    Commonwealth Writers Prize

Also by Charlotte Grimshaw