> Skip to content

The classic Doctor Who adventure by Douglas Adams, novelised at last

The hugely powerful Key to Time has been split into six segments, all of which have been disguised and hidden throughout time and space. Now the even more powerful White Guardian wants the Doctor to find the pieces.

With the first segment successfully retrieved, the Doctor, Romana and K-9 trace the second segment of the Key to the planet Calufrax. But when they arrive at exactly the right point in space, they find themselves on exactly the wrong planet – Zanak.

Ruled by the mysterious ‘Captain’, Zanak is a happy and prosperous planet. Mostly. If the mines run out of valuable minerals and gems then the Captain merely announces a New Golden Age and they fill up again. It’s an economic miracle – so obviously something’s very wrong...

Formats & editions

Also by Douglas Adams

Doctor Who and the Krikkitmen
Doctor Who: Classic TV Adventures Collection One
Doctor Who: The Pirate Planet
Dirk Gently: The BBC Radio Collection
Doctor Who: City of Death
Doctor Who: Shada
Last Chance To See
The Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy
Mostly Harmless


Ready Player One
Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View
The Handmaid's Tale
Star Wars: Phasma
Brave New World
The Long Utopia
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Lament for the Fallen
Creation Machine
Maximum Ride: Fang
The One
Doctor Who: In the Blood
The Sunlight Pilgrims
Doctor Who: City of Death
The Ocean of Time
Find Me
Doctor Who: Silhouette (12th Doctor novel)