> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1979)

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated orginal narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • Eagerly awaited, must-read new science book from the UK's bestselling non-fiction writer. Bryson is the prize-winning author of A Short History of Nearly Everything and The Road to Little Dribbling

  • The bestselling phenomenon returns with 21 bite-sized lessons to help us understand our troubled times.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • A beautiful new colouring book that takes you beneath the waves by creator of the worldwide bestsellers, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An extraordinarily fun and practical book that shows science experiments can be just as easy as baking.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • The slowness of climate change is a fairy tale, perhaps as pernicious as the one that says it isn't happening at all, and if your anxiety about it is dominated by fears of sea-level rise, you are barely scratching the surface of what terrors are possible, even within the lifetime of a teenager today.

  • The smash-hit bestseller which exposes the invisible bias in our everyday lives - 'HELL YES. This is one of those books that has the potential to change things' (Caitlin Moran)

  • An affecting, insightful and warm memoir of growing up Samoan in New Zealand — and of coping with heart disease.

  • A new, jungle themed colouring book by the multi-million-copy-selling worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford, creator of the global bestsellers, Lost Ocean, Enchanted Forest and Secret Garden.

  • A short, accessible analysis of how and why humans sleep - weaving together cultural, social, economic and psychoanalytic influences in pursuit of the truth about insomnia.

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • Why do some businesses achieve long-lasting success and others don't?

  • A dramatic, minute-by-minute account of one of the most shattering events of the Cold War, from an award-winning historian.

  • The first ever maths book to be a No.1 Bestseller shows us what happens when maths goes wrong in the real world.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • A groundbreaking exploration of the science of productivity from the author of the international bestseller The Power of Habit.

  • A real-life silent witness from one of Britain's foremost forensic pathologists.

  • Why was Saul tormented by three unopened letters from Stockholm? What made Thelma spend her whole life raking over a long-past love affair? How did Carlos' macho fantasies help him deal with terminal cancer?

  • 'Sue Black’s utterly gripping account of her life & career as a professor of anatomy & forensic anthropology.' (Guardian). A fascinating, critically acclaimed mix of science and meditation on death.

Browse more