> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1981)

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • The bestselling phenomenon returns with 21 bite-sized lessons to help us understand our troubled times.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • A cinematic, propulsive and frightening climate tour of our near future - coming much faster than you think.

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • Companion to the groundbreaking NETFLIX original documentary series narrated by Sir David Attenborough, OUR PLANET presents a new view of the world, using stunning photographic images and graphics to reveal animal behaviour and environmental change that we've never seen before.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated original narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • An intimate look at the man who led Apple to be the world's first trillion-dollar company.

  • Could psychedelic drugs change our worldview? One of America's most revered writers takes us on a mind-altering journey to the frontiers of human consciousness.

  • Michael Palin brings to life one of the greatest adventures of all time

  • A dramatic, minute-by-minute account of one of the most shattering events of the Cold War, from an award-winning historian.

  • DK Australia

    Introducing an exciting new approach to stargazing in the southern hemisphere, this book features step-by-step routes to help you easily identify key constellations across the southern night sky.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • An unforgettable, insightful and deeply humane memoir from a New Zealand paediatrician who has committed his life to the care and wellbeing of young people.

  • A deceptively simple adventure into the unknown using only paper, a pencil and a single line.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • A real-life silent witness from one of Britain's foremost forensic pathologists.

  • A short, accessible analysis of how and why humans sleep - weaving together cultural, social, economic and psychoanalytic influences in pursuit of the truth about insomnia.

  • A beautiful new colouring book that takes you beneath the waves by creator of the worldwide bestsellers, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

  • Matt Parker, the brilliant stand-up mathematician, shows us what happens when maths goes wrong in the real world.

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

Browse more