> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1881)

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated original narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • The mysteries and emotional richness of the animal world revealed as never before, from the author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Hidden Life of Trees.

  • In this mind-bending introduction to modern physics, Carlo Rovelli explains Einstein's theory of general relativity, quantum mechanics, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, elementary particles, gravity, and the nature of the mind.

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. A sparkling new anthology of essays, lectures and letters by the brilliant evolutionary biologist, author of The Selfish Gene and The God Delusion.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • A beautiful new colouring book that takes you beneath the waves by creator of the worldwide bestsellers, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

  • A follow-up title to the hugely successful No. 8 Re-wired.

  • Dale Bredesen's groundbreaking plan, based on his landmark clinical trials, offers the first real hope of preventing and reversing Alzheimer's

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • A short history of everybody for the last 13,000 years. Winner of the Rhone-Poulenc Science Book Prize.

  • The Top Ten bestselling authors of The Quantum Universe take us on an awe-inspiring journey of scientific exploration.

  • Steven Pinker's riveting, myth-destroying new book reveals how, contrary to popular belief, humankind has become progressively less violent, over millenia and decades. Mark Zuckerberg has made Better Angels of our Nature his next book club pick.

  • The global phenomenon blood-type diet is back and even better with a new revised edition offering even more guidance – including 10-day Jump Start Plan – to help you harness the power of your own amazing bio-chemistry and cast aside the fad diets for good!

  • The most beautiful guide to the Danish custom of hygge, the everyday life philosophy for better living.

Browse more