> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1880)

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • A follow-up title to the hugely successful No. 8 Re-wired.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated original narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • A new edition of Bill Byson's worldwide bestseller A Short History of Nearly Everything abridged and adapted for children. With full colour illustrations and photographs.

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • Perfect for sliding in your pocket or stuffing in your bag, Wreck This Journal Everywhere is the ideal creative companion!

  • A deceptively simple adventure into the unknown using only paper, a pencil and a single line

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller with a new appendix of updates from the author.

  • A charmingly illustrated gift book profiling 50 famous women scientists from the ancient Greek mathematician, philosopher, and astronomer, Hypatia, to Marie Curie, a physicist and chemist.

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

  • Why was Saul tormented by three unopened letters from Stockholm? What made Thelma spend her whole life raking over a long-past love affair? How did Carlos' macho fantasies help him deal with terminal cancer?

  • A groundbreaking synthesis of the entire science of human behaviour by 'one of the best scientist-writers of our time' (Oliver Sacks)

  • This shocking, passionate book lays bare the truth about the human cost of financial crises. Backed up by the authors' own groundbreaking research, The Body Economic reveals that, even amid the worst economic disasters, the ways in which governments deal with . . .

  • This landmark scientific investigation by one of the world's leading psychologists reveals empathy to be our most dangerous emotion

  • This book is for every person who has ever felt bad about themselves and wondered if life would be cooler/easier/more fun if they just looked 'better’ somehow.

  • In this menagerie of the misunderstood, zoologist Lucy Cooke explores centuries of animals myths, revealing the fascinating and often hilarious truths behind some of the strangest animal theories.

  • The most beautiful guide to the Danish custom of hygge, the everyday life philosophy for better living.

Browse more