> Skip to content

Popular Science & Medicine books (1881)

  • What makes us brilliant? What makes us deadly? What makes us Sapiens? This bestselling history of our species challenges everything we know about being human.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Stunningly repackaged edition of the international bestseller with a new appendix of updates from the author.

  • Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.

  • Prompted to think about landscape, place names, maps, currency and more Keri Smith encourages everyone to push their imaginations to the limit.

  • Bring your own colour to the story. A gorgeously illustrated original narrative for all the family to colour and cherish, by the multi-million-copy-selling, worldwide phenomenon, Johanna Basford.

  • A beautiful new colouring book that takes you beneath the waves by creator of the worldwide bestsellers, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest.

  • The mysteries and emotional richness of the animal world revealed as never before, from the author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Hidden Life of Trees.

  • Now in spectacular full colour throughout, a special 10th anniversary edition of the internationally bestselling journal that started it all-with more than 7 million copies sold!

  • A follow-up title to the hugely successful No. 8 Re-wired.

  • The incomparable Bill Bryson travels through time and space to introduce us to the world, the universe and everything in this groundbreaking book, the best selling popular science book of the 21st century.

  • The global phenomenon blood-type diet is back and even better with a new revised edition offering even more guidance – including 10-day Jump Start Plan – to help you harness the power of your own amazing bio-chemistry and cast aside the fad diets for good!

  • The effects of trauma can be devastating for sufferers, their families and future generations. Here one of the world's experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for treatment, moving away from standard talking and drug therapies and towards an alternative approach that heals mind, brain and body. 

  • From the internationally bestselling colouring book author Johanna Basford comes 36 postcards featuring stunning artwork from Magical Jungle, for colouring in and sending (or keeping for yourself!)

  • Girl Stuff 8–12 is the essential younger girl's guide to puberty and the pre-teen years.

  • A leading expert introduces the revolutionary new science of the immune system with its break-through medical cures and discusses how stress, sleep and ageing affect our health.

  • For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say. It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

  • The legendary biologist Edward O. Wilson offers his most philosophically probing work to date.

  • From the Nasa astronaut who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station – what it’s like out there and what it’s like now, back here. Enter Scott Kelly's fascinating world and dare to think of your own a little differently.

  • This book is for every person who has ever felt bad about themselves and wondered if life would be cooler/easier/more fun if they just looked 'better’ somehow.

  • The Sunday Times bestselling author is back, this time on a quest to find the world’s rarest bees…

  • The bestselling field guide to the twenty-first century by one of its most celebrated observers.

Browse more